Navigazione veloce

Countries That Are Not Part of the Paris Agreement

The Paris Agreement, also known as the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), is a legally binding agreement between almost every country in the world to combat climate change and limit global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels.

However, not all countries are signatories to the Paris Agreement. As of 2021, there are five countries that are not part of the Paris Agreement. These countries are:

1. Eritrea

2. Iran

3. Iraq

4. Libya

5. South Sudan

The reasons for these countries not joining the Paris Agreement are varied. Iran, for example, has stated that it does not want to be held accountable for its greenhouse gas emissions until developed countries take action to reduce their own emissions. Iraq and Libya, on the other hand, have cited economic reasons for not joining, while Eritrea and South Sudan have not provided a specific reason for their non-participation.

It is important to note that while these countries are not part of the Paris Agreement, they are still affected by climate change and can contribute to global efforts to combat it. The Paris Agreement is a global effort, and it is important for all countries to work together to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and limit the effects of climate change.

In conclusion, the Paris Agreement is a significant global effort to combat climate change, and almost every country in the world has signed on to it. However, there are still five countries that are not part of this agreement, each with their own reasons for their non-participation. It is crucial that all countries work together to address climate change and its impact on the environment and humanity.